Level check

Which class should I choose?

 

We use class names like Intermediate, Intermediate/Advanced and Advanced in order to find a preliminary grouping. It is important to note though, that these levels are relative levels. Whether a dancer is classified as a "good Intermediate" or a "struggling Intermediate/Advanced" depends to a strong part also on the other participants.

At the beginning of our camp, we will do a level check with experienced teachers in all classes. Thereby we want to assure that the camp offers an optimal learning environment for all participants. We reserve the right to suggest participants to other classes, if necessary.

You can help us a lot though by thinking about your own dancing abilities and your expectations of the camp, and answer the following questions for yourself:

 

1. How proficient am I?

This question is probably the most difficult one, since proficiency cannot be measured solely by years of dancing. The intensity, your goals and your speed of learning have to be factored in as well. And what does proficiency mean anyway? Is it enough to have somewhat understood the steps? Or does it include being able to dance the move with different partners so that it feels clear and nice to them as well...?

Especially in the beginning, one tends to overestimate one's abilities, since often one does not grasp the extent of what is yet unknown. Best you read the descriptions of the expected moves in detail, and reflect if you are really fine with dancing them with different partners at different tempi confidently. We also encourage you to ask for feedback from your dancing partners.

 

2. What are my goals?

Try to figure out if you want to intensively hone your technique or if the fun of new figures is most important for you.
 

The BB-Dancecamp offers different class formats to accomodate these options:

 

  • In Boogie Woogie you should deliberate if you want to challenge your boundaries in a higher class, or if you want to select a lower level to concentrate on the details.

 

  • In Lindy Hop besides the above, there are even two completely different formats, depending on your focus: In Lindy Intensive, you will be working on your technique intensively all day long for three days, and should bring with you the necessary attitude, energy and drive. In Lindy Open – which we now offer in two different levels – the focus is on new moves and inspiration.

 

In any case, you will learn a lot in any class!

 

3. Where am I in relation to the others?

In couple dances like Boogie Woogie and Lindy Hop, the respect towards other dancers is paramount – this also includes being honest to yourself and acknowledging your weaknesses. For everyone to reach their goal to move forward with their dancing skills and to have fun, it is important to us that the classes are harmonious. 

The abilities of our participants are different every year. For this reason, it is perfectly possible that you have classified into the same level several years in a row, and still feel challenged. Our experienced teachers can cater to the participants and make sure that the camp is a great experience for everyone.


We as organizers are looking forward to a pleasant camp with a lot of exhilerating experiences for everyone, for Boogie as well as for Lindy, in great quality and intensity.

In case you have any questions regarding your class level, please don't hesitate to contact the BBDC-Team

 

What levels are offered?

 

We offer tracks for the following levels. Unfortunately, we do not offer any classes for beginners at BB-DanceCamp.

 

 

Boogie Woogie

Block classes

Boogie Woogie Competition class Lindy Open Lindy Intensive Special classes Kidz
Levels Intermediate

Competitive dancers

(pre-registration required, see here)

Intermediate -

Mixed classes

(from Intermediate level)

Kids & teens from 7 years of age

(no level limitations)

Intermediate/ Advanced

Intermediate/ Advanced

Intermediate/ Advanced
Advanced - Advanced

Levelcheck

Welchen Kurs soll ich wählen?

 

Wir verwenden Kursbezeichnungen wie Intermediate, Intermediate/Advanced und Advanced, um eine Voreinstufung zu treffen. Es handelt sich hierbei allerdings um relative Levels, denn ob ein Tänzer zum Beispiel als ein „guter Intermediate“ oder ein „schlechter Intermediate/Advanced“ eingestuft wird, ist auch von den anderen Teilnehmern abhängig.

Zu Beginn unseres Camps werden wir daher in allen Kursen einen Levelcheck mit erfahrenen und ausgebildeten Trainern durchführen. Damit wollen wir sicherstellen, dass das Camp für alle Teilnehmer ein optimales Lernumfeld bietet. Wir behalten uns vor, Teilnehmer ggf. in andere Kurse zu verschieben.


Ihr helft uns bei der Kurseinteilung sehr, wenn ihr euch vor der Anmeldung bereits ein paar Gedanken zu eurem eigenen Können und euren Erwartungen an das Camp macht und die folgenden Fragen für euch beantwortet:

 

1. Was kann ich?

Diese Frage ist vermutlich die schwierigste, denn: „Können“ lässt sich nicht nur und automatisch in der Anzahl an Tanz-Jahren messen. Auch Intensität, Ziele und Lerngeschwindigkeit spielen eine Rolle. Und was heißt „können“ überhaupt? Reicht es, die Schrittfolge halbwegs verstanden zu haben? Oder beinhaltet „können“ nicht auch, dass man die Figur mit verschiedenen Partnern so tanzen kann, dass sie sich für den anderen klar und angenehm anfühlt?

Gerade am Anfang überschätzt man sich leicht, da man oft noch nicht weiß, was man nicht weiß. Les dir am besten genau die Beschreibungen der vorausgesetzten Figuren auf den Kursseiten durch und überlege dir, ob du dich mit diesen wirklich wohlfühlst und ob du sie mit verschiedenen Partnern sicher tanzen kannst. Trau dich auch ruhig mal, deine Tanzpartner um Feedback zu bitten.

 

2. Was sind meine Ziele?

Mach dir bewusst, ob du auf dem Camp intensiv an deiner Technik feilen willst oder ob für dich Spaß und neue Figuren im Mittelpunkt stehen.

 

Das BB-Dancecamp bietet je nachdem verschiedene Kursformate an:

 

  • Im Boogie solltest du dir überlegen, ob du auf dem Camp in einem höheren Kurs an deine Grenzen gehen willst (und kannst) oder ob du lieber ein niedrigeres Level wählen möchtest, in dem du dich mehr auf die Details konzentrieren und an diesen arbeiten kannst.

 

  • Im Lindy Hop haben wir sogar zwei völlig verschiedene Formate, je nachdem, wo du den Schwerpunkt legen möchtest: Im Lindy Intensive wirst du intensiv an deiner Technik arbeiten und solltest hierfür auch die Energie und den Ehrgeiz mitbringen. Im Lindy Open – den wir inzwischen auch für zwei verschiedene Könnensstufen anbieten – liegt der Fokus mehr auf neuen Figuren und Inspiration.

 

Lernen wirst du auf jedem Fall in jedem Kurs sehr viel!

 

3. Wo stehe ich im Vergleich zu den anderen?

Bei Paartänzen wie Boogie Woogie und Lindy Hop ist der Respekt vor den anderen Tänzern von zentraler Bedeutung – und dazu gehört auch, zu sich selbst ehrlich zu sein und seine Schwächen anzuerkennen. Denn damit alle ihr Ziel erreichen können, sich auf dem Camp tänzerisch weiterzuentwickeln und Spaß zu haben, ist uns wichtig, dass die Kurse harmonisch sind.

Das Können der Gesamtheit unserer Teilnehmer ist jedes Jahr unterschiedlich, weswegen es durchaus passieren kann, dass du mehrere Jahre hintereinander im gleichen Level eingestuft bist und dich trotzdem herausgefordert fühlst, denn unsere erfahrenen Trainer können gut auf die Teilnehmer eingehen und das Camp für euch alle zu einem großartigen Erlebnis machen.


Wir als Organisatoren wünschen uns vor allem anderen ein schönes Camp mit vielen tollen Erfahrungen für alle sowie Boogie Woogie und Lindy Hop in guter Qualität und Intensität.

Solltest du noch Fragen zur Kurseinteilung haben, kannst du dich gerne beim BBDC-Team melden.

 

 

Welche Levels gibt es?

 

Wir bieten in den verschiedenen Tracks die folgenden Levels an. Bitte habt Verständnis, dass wir auf dem BB-DanceCamp keine Kurse für Anfänger anbieten.

 

 

Boogie Woogie Blockkurse

Boogie Woogie Turnier Lindy Open Lindy Intensive Spezialkurse Kidz
Levels Intermediate

Turniertänzer

(nur nach persönlicher Voranmeldung)

Intermediate -

Gemischte Kurse

(geeignet ab Intermediate)

Kinder & Jugendliche ab 7J.

(levelunabhängig)

Intermediate/ Advanced

Intermediate/ Advanced

Intermediate/ Advanced
Advanced - Advanced